Provinces of Iran Qazvin


The province of Qazvin is located in west of Tehran.

It was separated from Tehran province in 1996 as a new province in division of the country.

Qazvin province connects Tehran to the northern and western regions of the country.

The province is divided into two mountainous and plain sections. The climate is cold in the north and moderate in the south.

According to the monuments, this province dates back to the Median government in 9th century BC. In the Qajar era Qazvin was one of the important governmental centers.

Alamut is a vast region at northeast of Qazvin province limited to the Mazandaran Mountains the north.

The fortresses of the Alamut were built by Aldaei Alaihaq Hassan- ibn- e zayd- ol Bagheri, on 246, during the region of Motavakkel, the Abbasi Caliph. The remains of Hassan Sabah castle, Lambesar, Shirkoh, Navizarshah, Ilan and the edge of virgin nature and charming landscape, Zarabad shedding (Tears of) blood plane tree and Akojan Hahatkhaneh cave, Shahkoh and Hassanabad stone tombs, and more than 30 Imamzadeh must be added to the historical worth seeing sights of the province.

The city of Qazvin, the provincial capital is located in the west of Tehran. Qazvin is the commercial center of the surrounding agricultural region which is counted as one of the important focal point for development of the country due to its suitable condition.

This city was founded in the 3rd century A.D.

Harun ar-Rashid built a mosque here in the 8th century. Today this city with its interesting historical buildings and vestiges is one of the tourist attractions.